Euro Velo 6

Into Novi Sad, I have picked up once again the Euro Velo 6 route which is a bicycle route that runs 4448km from the Atlantic to the Black sea. Every country takes a slightly different stance on the sign posting but in Serbia every marker comes with a little quote. I’m not sure if I want to be sick or smile.

“I don’t want to get to the end of my life and find that I’ve lived the length of it. I want to of lived the width of it as well”                                   Dianne Ackerman

Update: Sunday 15th November Belgrade.

I have decided that the Serbian Travel quotations make me smile.  So much so that I stop at every one to see what it says.

Living on Earth is expensive but it does include a free trip around the Sun every year

This next one is extremely apt sharing a road with Serbian drivers. They are the most insane I have ever seen. I find myself holding my breath and ‘sucking in’ every time I feel the rumble and hear the scream of a big dirty truck coming up behind me.  Sometimes I glance behind to desperately catch the eye of the driver who is  animated in conversation on his mobile phone.

The only difference between fear and adventure is how much you breath (in) Rob Kalnitsky

(in) was my own apt addition to this quote. Apologies to the author.

Leave a Reply

